Jaap van Zweden – from 2017 Principal Conductor of the Gstaad Festival Orchestra and the Gstaad Conducting Academy

jvz_copyright_bert_hulselmans.jpg
jaap_van_zweden_credit_hans_van_der_woerd.jpg

picture: Bert Hulselmans

picture: Hans van der Woerd

The Dutch conductor Jaap van Zweden, who has been announced as new music director of the New York Philharmonic effective 2018, will be heading the Gstaad Conducting Academy and the Gstaad Festival Orchestra in Gstaad as of 2017.
By engaging the star conductor Jaap van Zweden, Gstaad Menuhin Festival raises its latest projects – Gstaad Conducting Academy, which is unique in Europe – to another level.  Since the unmatched top education project for junior conductors was launched in 2014 with conductor Neeme Järvi, it has taken place three times.
55-year-old van Zweden will head the Conducting Academy and conduct 2 to 3 programs a year with the Gstaad Festival Orchestra.  Performances at the Schleswig Holstein Music Festival have already been scheduled for August 2017.  At the same time, he will head, together with guest professors, the public workshops for the conducting students that take place within the scope of Gstaad Academy.
Van Zweden, who formerly was concertmaster of the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam for 16 years, did not start his conducting career until he was in his late 30s.  Since then, his professional development has been unequalled. Currently, he is music director in Dallas and Hong Kong and regularly guest conducts major American orchestras, such as New York, Chicago and Cleveland, and leading European orchestras such as the Orchestre de Paris. Starting with the 2018/19 season, van Zweden becomes music director of the New York Philharmonic.
Van Zweden’s musical focus, along with new music, is on the late Romantic repertoire: he has conducted celebrated cycles of Brahms and Bruckner, and recently received much attention for his interpretations and recordings of Wagner’s “Das Rheingold” and previously for “Parsifal” with orchestras in Hong Kong and Amsterdam, as well as for many world premieres. His musicality is frequently described as “elemental musical power or force” – and he invariably captures audiences with it.
During his childhood and adolescence, Jaap van Zweden visited Gstaad and its surroundings with his family.  However, he did not return here until recent years when he came to Gstaad for his summer and winter holidays.
Van Zweden has been engaged for the Gstaad festivals in 2017 and 2018.  The agreement includes an option for extending the position to 2019.

Review summer 2016

25 July until 19 August 2016

Gstaad Conducting Academy 2016
With Prof. Neeme Järvi, Artistic Advisor

 

External Page: Georgios Balatsinos und Neeme Järvi

Georgios Balatsinos and Neeme Järvi (Conducting Academy 2014; Foto: Raphael Faux)

Gstaad offers rising conductors an opportunity unparalleled in the whole of Europe of working with a professional orchestra - the Gstaad Festival Orchestra - and giving concerts under the supervision of experienced conductors. With Neeme Järvi, his team and the Gstaad Festival Orchestra, the Menuhin Festival and its Gstaad Academy are on course to become the leading summer academy for young conductors in Europe. The course is open to public audition. Each week ends with a concluding concert, conducted by Conducting Academy students.

Jaap van Zweden – ab 2017 Principal Conductor des Gstaad Festival Orchestra und der Gstaad Conducting Academy

jvz_copyright_bert_hulselmans.jpg
jaap_van_zweden_credit_hans_van_der_woerd.jpg

Foto: Bert Hulselsmans

Foto: Hans van der Woerd

Der im Frühjahr als neuer Musik-Direktor des New York Philharmonic Orchestra ab 2018 ausgerufene holländische Dirigent Jaap van Zweden übernimmt in Gstaad ab dem Jahr 2017 die Leitung der Gstaad Conducting Academy und des Gstaad Festival Orchestra.
Durch die Verpflichtung des Stardirigenten hebt das Gstaad Menuhin Festival sein jüngstes Projekt, die in Europa exklusive Gstaad Conducting Academy, auf eine weitere Entwicklungsstufe. Nachdem dieses einmalige hochkarätige Ausbildungsprojekt für junge Dirigenten im Jahre 2014 mit dem Dirigenten Neeme Järvi lanciert wurde, hat es seither dreimal stattgefunden.
Der 55-jährige Van Zweden wird einerseits die Leitung der Conducting Academy übernehmen und andererseits jährlich 2-3 Programme mit dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra leiten. Im August 2017 sind bereits Auftritte beim Schleswig Holstein Musikfestival geplant. Anderseits leitet er zusammen mit Gastdirigenten die öffentlichen Workshops für die Dirigenten-Studenten und dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra im Rahmen der Gstaad Academy.
Van Zweden war während 16 Jahren Konzertmeister des Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam und lancierte seine Dirigenten Karriere mit Ende 30. Seither hat er eine beispiellose Karriere hingelegt und ist zur Zeit Chefdirigent in Dallas und Hong Kong sowie regelmässiger Gastdirigent bei allen grossen amerikanischen Orchestern wie  New York, Chicago, Cleveland und den führenden europäischen Orchestern wie dem Orchestre de Paris. Van Zweden wird ab der Saison 18/19 Musikdirektor bei den New Yorker Philharmonikern.
Van Zwedens musikalischen Schwerpunkte sind, neben der Neuen Musik, beim spät- romantischen Repertoire zu finden: Er dirigierte gefeierte Brahms- und Bruckner-Zyklen und sorgte jüngst mit seinen Interpretationen und Aufnahmen von Wagners „Das Rheingold“ und vorher mit  „Parsifal“ mit Orchestern in Hong Kong und Amsterdam und vielen weiteren Uraufführungen für Aufsehen. Seine Musikalität wird oft als „musikalische Urkraft oder Urgewalt“ bezeichnet, womit er das Publikum unweigerlich in seinen Bann zieht.
Jaap van Zweden besuchte Gstaad und die Region als Kind und Jugendlicher mit seiner Familie, ehe er erst in den letzten Jahren wieder als Feriengast während den Sommer- und Winterwochen nach Gstaad zurück fand.
Mit Van Zweden wurde eine Vereinbarung über eine Zusammenarbeit für die Festival-Ausgaben 2017 und 2018 mit Option auf Verlängerung für 2019 abgeschlossen.

Rückschau Sommer 2016

25. Juli bis 17. August 2016

Gstaad Conducting Academy 2016
Mit Prof. Neeme Järvi, Artistic Advisor

 

Externe Seite: Georgios Balatsinos und Neeme Järvi

Georgios Balatsinos und Neeme Järvi (Conducting Academy 2014; Foto: Raphael Faux)

Die Gstaad Conducting Academy bietet vielversprechenden jungen Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten eine in Europa bisher einzigartige Gelegenheit, während 3 Wochen mit einem hoch professionellen Orchester - dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra (GFO) - und unter der Leitung von erfahrenen Dirigenten zu arbeiten und Konzerte zu geben. Das Menuhin Festival und seine Gstaad Academy entwickeln sich damit mit Unterstützung von Neeme Järvi und seinem Team und dem GFO zur führenden Sommerakademie für junge DirigentInnen in Europa. Der Meisterkurs ist öffentlich; Jede Woche findet ein Abschlusskonzert der Conducting Academy unter der Leitung der Teilnehmer statt.
Das Gstaad Festival Orchestra wird vom 25. Juli bis zum 17. August als «orchestra in residence» das Herzstück bilden!