Jaap van Zweden – from 2017 Principal Conductor of the Gstaad Festival Orchestra and the Gstaad Conducting Academy

jvz_copyright_bert_hulselmans.jpg
jaap_van_zweden_credit_hans_van_der_woerd.jpg

picture: Bert Hulselmans

picture: Hans van der Woerd

The Dutch conductor Jaap van Zweden, who has been announced as new music director of the New York Philharmonic effective 2018, will be heading the Gstaad Conducting Academy and the Gstaad Festival Orchestra in Gstaad as of 2017.
By engaging the star conductor Jaap van Zweden, Gstaad Menuhin Festival raises its latest projects – Gstaad Conducting Academy, which is unique in Europe – to another level.  Since the unmatched top education project for junior conductors was launched in 2014 with conductor Neeme Järvi, it has taken place three times.
55-year-old van Zweden will head the Conducting Academy and conduct 2 to 3 programs a year with the Gstaad Festival Orchestra.  Performances at the Schleswig Holstein Music Festival have already been scheduled for August 2017.  At the same time, he will head, together with guest professors, the public workshops for the conducting students that take place within the scope of Gstaad Academy.
Van Zweden, who formerly was concertmaster of the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam for 16 years, did not start his conducting career until he was in his late 30s.  Since then, his professional development has been unequalled. Currently, he is music director in Dallas and Hong Kong and regularly guest conducts major American orchestras, such as New York, Chicago and Cleveland, and leading European orchestras such as the Orchestre de Paris. Starting with the 2018/19 season, van Zweden becomes music director of the New York Philharmonic.
Van Zweden’s musical focus, along with new music, is on the late Romantic repertoire: he has conducted celebrated cycles of Brahms and Bruckner, and recently received much attention for his interpretations and recordings of Wagner’s “Das Rheingold” and previously for “Parsifal” with orchestras in Hong Kong and Amsterdam, as well as for many world premieres. His musicality is frequently described as “elemental musical power or force” – and he invariably captures audiences with it.
During his childhood and adolescence, Jaap van Zweden visited Gstaad and its surroundings with his family.  However, he did not return here until recent years when he came to Gstaad for his summer and winter holidays.
Van Zweden has been engaged for the Gstaad festivals in 2017 and 2018.  The agreement includes an option for extending the position to 2019.

Review summer 2016

25 July until 19 August 2016

Gstaad Conducting Academy 2016
With Prof. Neeme Järvi, Artistic Advisor

 

External Page: Georgios Balatsinos und Neeme Järvi

Georgios Balatsinos and Neeme Järvi (Conducting Academy 2014; Foto: Raphael Faux)

Gstaad offers rising conductors an opportunity unparalleled in the whole of Europe of working with a professional orchestra - the Gstaad Festival Orchestra - and giving concerts under the supervision of experienced conductors. With Neeme Järvi, his team and the Gstaad Festival Orchestra, the Menuhin Festival and its Gstaad Academy are on course to become the leading summer academy for young conductors in Europe. The course is open to public audition. Each week ends with a concluding concert, conducted by Conducting Academy students.

Gstaad Menuhin Festival Gstaad Festival Orchestra Gstaad Academy Gstaad Digital Festival

Base de données de photos Contact

Facebook Youtube

Les Alpes
13. Juillet – 1. Septembre 2018

Jaap van Zweden

A partir de 2017 Principal Conductor des Gstaad Festival Orchestra und der Gstaad Conducting Academy

Appelé à assurer la direction musicale dès début 2018 du New York Philharmonic Orchestra, le chef hollandais Jaap van Zweden reprend à partir de l'année 2017 la direction de la Gstaad Conducting Academy et du Gstaad Festival Orchestra.
À travers cette nomination, le Gstaad Menuhin Festival permet au plus jeune et au plus exclusif de ses projets – une Conducting Academy unique en Europe – de franchir un nouveau palier dans son développement. Lancée en 2014 avec Neeme Järvi, cette plateforme de haut vol à destination des jeunes chefs en formation a connu jusqu'ici trois éditions.
Âgé de 55 ans, Van Zweden assurera d'un côté la direction de la Conducting Academy et conduira de l'autre 2-3 programmes à la tête du Gstaad Festival Orchestra. Des engagements au Schleswig Holstein Musikfestival sont d'ores et déjà planifiés pour août 2017. Son activité consistera à animer, en compagnie d'autres chefs invités, des workshops publics destinés aux étudiants chefs d'orchestre dans le cadre de la Gstaad Academy.
Van Zweden a été durant 16 ans premier violon solo de l'Orchestre du Concertgebouw d'Amsterdam et a lancé sa carrière de chef à la fin de la trentaine. Il mène depuis une carrière sans commune mesure: directeur musical à Dallas et Hong Kong, il est régulièrement invité à diriger tous les grands orchestres américains – New York, Chicago, Cleveland… – et européens, parmi lesquels l'Orchestre de Paris. Il deviendra directeur musical du Philharmonique de New York à partir de la saison 18/19.
Outre la musique d'aujourd'hui, Van Zweden privilégie le répertoire romantique tardif: ses cycles Brahms et Bruckner, et plus récemment ses enregistrements du «Rheingold» et de «Parsifal» de Wagner avec les orchestres de Hong Kong et Amsterdam, ont été unanimement salués. Sa musicalité est souvent qualifiée de «force musicale primitive» et agit à ce titre de façon irrésistible sur le public.
S'il a visité Gstaad et sa région comme enfant et adolescent avec sa famille, ce n'est que ces dernières années qu'il a retrouvé le chemin de la station à la faveur de semaines de vacances estivales et hivernales.
Une convention a été signée avec Van Zweden pour les éditions 2017 et 2018, avec une option de prolongation jusqu'en 2019.

home_1.jpg

Foto: Bert Hulselsmans

home_2.jpg

Foto: Hans van der Woerd

2016

25 juillet au 17 août 2016

Gstaad Conducting Academy 2016 avec le Prof. Neeme Järvi, Artistic Advisor
Page externe: Georgios Balatsinos und Neeme Järvi

Georgios Balatsinos et Neeme Järvi - Conducting Academy 2014 (Photo: Raphael Faux)

Gstaad offre aux jeunes et prometteurs chefs d’orchestre une occasion unique en Europe de travailler durant trois semaines et de donner des concerts avec un orchestre professionnel, le Gstaad Festival Orchestra, sous la direction de chefs réputés. Le Menuhin Festival et la Gstaad Academy se profilent ainsi avec Neeme Järvi, son équipe et le Gstaad Festival Orchestra comme une académie estivale de premier plan à l’attention de jeunes chefs en Europe. Les cours sont ouverts au public. Chaque semaine se clôt par un concert de la Conducting Academy (sous la direction du chef responsable présent).